Dear God, the 100-0 beating is getting larger than life

This story is just getting bigger and bigger over time. Let me bring everyone up to date.

1) Covenant School of Dallas girls’ basketball team beats Dallas Academy 100-0.

2) Now officials from the winning school say they are trying to do the right thing by seeking a forfeit and apologizing for the margin of victory.

3) Covenant Coach disagrees an apology is in order for winning so large.

“In response to the statement posted on The Covenant School Website, I do not agree with the apology or the notion that the Covenant School girls basketball team should feel embarrassed or ashamed,” Micah Grimes wrote in an email that was sent to The Dallas Morning News. “We played the game as it was meant to be played. My values and my beliefs would not allow me to run up the score on any opponent, and it will not allow me to apologize for a wide-margin victory when my girls played with honor and integrity.”

Covenant has been in the national spotlight since Thursday when The Dallas Morning News published a story about its 100-point shutout victory over Dallas Academy back on Jan. 13.

When posted on dallasnews.com, the first-day story attracted 665,000 page views worldwide, an enormous number for a story on a local private school girls’ basketball game.

E-mails have flooded in from across the country and as far away as China and Thailand commenting on the story. Most have questioned the motives of Covenant’s coach for “running up” the score. But some have defended the coach for allowing his girls to play to their potential. None have blamed the Covenant players.

Dallas Academy girls, portrayed as lovable losers on the court but winners in life for their attitude after the loss, have been showered with praise nationally. They’ve were on ABC and CBS network morning shows on Saturday and are scheduled to make a repeat appearance on ABC’s Good Morning America on Monday as well as their Today show debut.

I wonder if and when this story is going to end? Both sides have compelling arguments, but really and truly (and I’m no coach), if I saw my team winning by 50-60 points, I’d put the reserves in or ask the refs to stop the game. But that’s just me. I tell you what I wouldn’t do though. I wouldn’t tell my team to take it easy on the competition unless it was to take a knee with a minute left in the game and I’m at their 3 yard line leading 50-0.

It’s all kind of confusing, but since this story won’t die, look for the next step in this process…the winning coach leaving or getting fired. Tragic.

UPDATE::::::: 7:30 PM Sunday Night……

Ummmmm yeah, the coach is indeed fired. It didn’t take a rocket scientist to see this coming.

 

Covenant Coach Disagrees with apology to Dallas Academy over 100-0 victory (Dallas Morning News)

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics, Sports

Leave a Reply

