Sunday night this and that

I had so much fun last night at the Grand Prairie Air Hogs game, I went again tonight. Heck, it’s only $6.00 admission. I had a hankering for a beer and some peanuts.

Well, along with the many changes that occur in August, one of those changes is the beginning of the hurricane season, and it’s already busy. Take a look:

That’s as of 5:00 PM on Sunday.

By the way, how about some good news? I am trying to go back to school!  I am trying to get into Northwood University.  I’m very excited about it. I’ll tell you more when I know more.

OK, can I get up on my soapbox for a minute?

I have sort of a strange occurance going on at work. many people (workers) aren’t happy. We recently changed managers and it’s been sort of difficult getting used to the new managers. The bottom line is there is all sorts of negativity going on there  now. My thing is, life is too short not to be happy. I think we workers either need to enjoy what we do, or find something else to do. The complicated facts to this is, there are many layers of unhappiness here, so it’s difficult to isolate the root cause issues. We go on.

I’ve kind of resolved myself to the fact that I will pass this life alone. Let’s face it, I’ve gotten used to being alone now. Bear in mind there are some lonely times, but on the plus side, I can come and go as I choose. I’m going to do my best to be happy.

And my gosh, have I got a story for you!

Deadspin’s fondness for Pat Jordan‘s writing is well documented and it’s always a good day when he publishes something new. But his latest piece for Men’s Journal is a bit of a departure from his usual chest-thumping.

The man who once told us he last got into a fistfight when he was 52-years-old and “abso-fucking-lutely” thinks most sports writers are “pussies” comes to grips with his own mortality. And, boy, it is grim and sad and will most likely put you in a reflective mood for the rest of the day when it turns out that, yes, growing old is just as humbling and depressing as we all fear.

Here’s a passage:

You were handsome once, like a Greek god, with curly black locks and luxuriant chest hair. You still are, in your mind’s eye, even if your hair is so white you look like a ghost in photographs. You look at that photograph of an old man, and say out loud, “Jeez, I look like an old man!” Your friends call back, “You are an old man.” A young friend of your wife’s, maybe 35, picks up a photograph of you when you were 38 off the fireplace mantel. “Wow,” she says. “You were hot once.” You resist the urge to tell her, “I still am.”

Read it. Then go find some friends, a giant pitcher of margaritas and a clean ashtray and make it a memorable Sunday in August.

You Get Old [Men’s Journal]

Wow….

OK, now that I’ve brought the room down, what say we come up with a great story?

From USAToday

MANCHESTER, N.H. (AP) — A 1,224-pound triple vanilla cupcake with pink frosting has set a record as the world’s largest.The sugary behemoth was unveiled Saturday at the Woodward Dream Cruise classic cars event in Royal Oak, Mich.

A Guinness World Records adjudicator was on hand to certify the cupcake’s girth. It was more than eight times the size of the previous record holder.

The colossal cupcake took 12 hours to bake and included 800 eggs and 200 pounds each of sugar and flour.

Slices of the cupcake were served in exchange for donations to the Susan G. Komen for the Cure breast cancer organization.

Ryan Abood, owner of New Hampshire-based Gourmetgiftbaskets.com who made the cupcake, told the Detroit Free Press that it clocked in at an estimated 2 million calories.

Have a great evening and week ya’ll.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, Deadspin, Food, General Topics, health, MLB, relationships, Sports, weather, weired news

Leave a Reply

