Time for a reunion of sorts

 

 

I had the honor and distinct pleasure of going to my high school reunion at Sweetwater High School yesterday. As I was driving to and from the reunion, I had so much I wanted to say about it. Now, as usual, when I sit down to write about it, I’m overcome with a loss of words about how special this was to me.

Being able to see old friends, just being able to go back home. It was such an honor to be able to reminisce with school mates.

Clifford Ashley, Norbert Zimmerman, Pat Smith Forgay…great to see ya’ll. It was just super to see everyone. I did make a mistake and called Debra Cox Janice Bahlman. Boy, was I embarrassed. Something tells me though that I wasn’t the only one making mistakes like that. It was great to see Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Smith. Awsome…Mr. Smith was my elementary school principal at Southeast Elementary. He still looks like he could go bear hunting with a willow switch, and he’s 78 now I think he said. Heck, he looks better than I do..but then, yeah…

I want to take a moment and recognize Andrea Baucom for a moment. I’m sure there is a term for us folks that are getting older and the kind of depression that goes with that. I’m not sure if any of you have gone through this…but I have, and i saw it written on Andrea’s face. It’s that frustrating feeling of seeing your friends get older, and coming to the realization we are older too. I battle that all of the time. I wish I knew how to fix it, but I can’t. I’ve tried. The only thing that helps me are projects like this. This entry, my blog, are all labors of love. I just want to say I have a soft spot for my old high school, and for any and all Mustangs. I don’t know how to explain it any further, I hope you understand what I mean.

One of the over-riding topics of conversation I noticed yesterday was the term “retirement”. Many of our classmates are either retired, or nearing retirement. To you I say WELL DONE!!! I will never ever get to be able to say that…I’ll be working till I’m 80 or so…I’ll be the guy at Wal-Mart that asks you if you need a cart.

I had a chance to talk to the new coach, Coach Slaughter. What a great young man he is. He is a man with a passion for winning, and I have no doubts he is the right man for this job.

Well, that’s about all of my thoughts at this moment. I have many videos to upload and get done, but just know Mustangs, you are the BEST!!!!

9-11-09 010

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

