Tis the season to be jolly

So I’m up early this Saturday morning to do a little business and to do a little grocery shopping. It got down to about 25 degrees last night, but the morning is bright and shiny.

I went by my local Target store and did my shopping. My friend Kristi had brought over her bread maker to use, so I had purchased the required mix to begin that when I got home. This was going to taste great with my spaghetti and meat sauce with the turkey meat in the sauce. Man, my mouth was watering thinking about the homemade bread that would go along with it.

I was feeling so thankful that I felt “normal” and hadn’t had any pain for a couple of months now. I was deeply appreciative to God that he has allowed me to have employment, and to be able to buy groceries. I was feeling very thankful. At one point in my life, I just lived for the weekend, but when you have had health issues like so many people have had, you begin to appreciate each day, even if it’s a Monday.

So I got to the checkout counter, and there was this elderly lady behind her basket and it looked as if she had just finished her transaction. In fact, the cashier had just came back around to her cash register from doing something somewhere else. It was ok with me, I wasn’t in any rush. The cashier handed the little old lady her receipt and apologized for some sort of error she had made. The elderly lady said no problem, and began to put everything in her purse, and started putting things in her basket to roll out. She had put a couple of sacks in the basket when she said to me, “I’m sorry I’m taking so long here,” to which I tried to make her feel no pressure by saying, “no problem ma’am, I have all day.” The thing was, I really meant that! I wasn’t in any kind of hurry at all. It was a beautiful day, I was alive, and I was very thankful for feeling good!

She looked up at me and said. “Rude!”

I was so dumbfounded, I was speechless!

She thought I was being sarcastic when I said I had all day. But I truly meant it.

One thing I do hate though. I hate when I’m minding my own business and someone drags me into something, or gets me involved in something and I get burned.

Oh well, tis the season I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, Food, General Topics, health, Holidays

Leave a Reply

