A Look Back at 2009

Where did 2009 go? I don’t know, but it went fast.

 I always feel the necessity to document things. As if anyone cares what I did on St. Patrick’s Day right? But I can’t help it if I feel the need to bring to you information that might make you think, or laugh, or maybe let you see things in a different light. It’s what I like to do.

2009 was a great year, just like most years are (what a piece of writing that last statement was/is) and we had everything from the new Cowboys Stadium being opened, to Michael Jackson’s death in 2009. So join me as I take a look back on 2009 and see if there is something there that will jog your memory and make you think, smile, cry, etc.

One of the things I love about documenting things like this is, it’s immortal. For example, this blog will be here long after I’m gone. Whether anyone chooses to read it is moot, but the fact is, the words technically will be here forever. I find some comfort in that. It puts to bed at least one thing about life, and that’s death. But I digress, 2009 had it’s share of hills and valleys. So let’s get this party started shall we? I will apologize in advance all of the personal parts to this, but hey, it’s what I know. 2009 actually started in December of 2008 for me. I had ended a relationship and moved into my own place during Thanksgiving of 2008, and boy was December of 2008 a month of change.

I met a lot of new friends, and it was fun to see what made people tick. It was time to try and make new friends and get over the friends I had lost.  There were friends at work, and friends in many different places. But mainly, last December was a period of adjustment for me as I tried to deal and cope with my health issues and take care of myself by making sure I could take care of myself, both physically and mentally. So to try and get some sort of stability going in my life, I concentrated on work and tried to put it all into perspective.

It was a very lonely period in my life. January 2009 came and I tried to make myself have fun. There was a contest to see if a person could blog from Australia and the Great Barrier Reef and I tried out for that.

It occurs to me as I write this, that I really should congratulate myself on a job well done in 2009. I went from a lonely, blubbering idiot, to at least having some direction in life. I have a new job, a new sense of purpose now, and I like that. I went from taking a train to work in Dallas, to a job right around the corner of  my apartment. I went from a company that refused to help me, to a great company that is fair-minded. I started back to college in 2009. How many people go back to college at 58? I don’t know of many, and I say that not as a badge of honor, but to say I have simply changed direction in life.

One of the funniest videos I did in 2009 was a video with my daughter Lacey, and Mark Cuban’s brother Brian as we all had lunch together one day.

Brian was a nice guy and I thought would be a good friend but I always felt like he was uncomfortable around me, especially since I had asked him if mark could autograph a couple of items for my boss. That was a big mistake. You would have thought I was asking for the keys to Ft. Knox. So basically, that new friendship ended in disaster.

I just tried to stay busy in 2009, and try to keep from having any chest pains. I went in for surgery again in 2009 for angioplasty. I was awake during the entire procedure, and it scared the heck outta me. It took me a long time after that to get back to normal and not be afraid my next heart beat would be my last. But God was with me, and that was certainly all I needed.

By the spring and summer time of 2009, I was trying to occupy myself by going to Rangers games by myself, and i also started getting into Grand Prairie Air Hogs baseball team. It was a cheap place to go to drink beer.

I actually got drunk at one of the games and was asked to leave. I’ve looked back at 2009 and reviewed how lonely I really was.

I tried going to outdoor concert to celebrate July 4th, and not even that worked out too well for me.

Then later on in July, I the chance to go to work at the new Cowboys Stadium! It was a cool way to see the stadium and still get paid to see the stadium.

I tried doing lots of blogging and posting videos, and I actually was able to produce a pretty cool video that sort of captured how I felt, or how I would have felt, if I had had someone in my life at this moment in time. I was really proud of this work.

And then of course there was the class reunion. I guess that worked out ok.

So I think at some point about this time, I knew I needed to change the way I was doing things in my life. I knew there were other people, friends and relatives that had issues as well. I wanted to break away from them and their problems and try to chart my own course. As I mentioned, I enrolled in college in September, and I also lost my job in Dallas at the same time. (I wonder if the old company didn’t want to pay for the tuition reimbursement I was approved for?) I was unemployed for 6 weeks and then I found my current job right around the corner from me.

I started to go to church to, and that proved to be the best move I made in 2009.  My daughter Karin helped me a great deal at this point. She mailed me her Bible that she had had for a long time, and she sent me a book called The Shack. It’s a great book and I encourage each of you to get a copy and read it. I found a great church to start attending, and the community group I belong is is just awesome. I had some great friends that helped me as well.

So I will mention what started out as a very lonely time in my life has changed for me and I have a new job, I have some new friends, and I still keep up with some old friends and family, and I feel better than I have in a long time, both mentally and physically. I’m ready for 2010. I am very blessed and much happier than I have been in a long time!

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Leave a Reply

