McCoy wins O’Brien Award

— Texas quarterback Colt McCoy added a significant off-field victory tonight to his NCAA-record mark of 45 career wins as a starting quarterback.

McCoy, a senior, became the second Longhorns’ player in the last four years to win the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, edging Houston’s Case Keenum and Florida’s Tim Tebow in balloting by members of the O’Brien selection committee.

The O’Brien winner was announced during the live telecast of The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show at Walt Disney World. McCoy joins former Texas quarterback Vince Young, the 2005 recipient, on the list of Longhorns’ quarterbacks who have been selected as the nation’s top quarterback by O’Brien voters.

Before the ceremony began, McCoy made it clear that the O’Brien Award held special significance to him after being a finalist for the honor in 2008. Winning it in his senior season, he said, “would mean a lot.”

“The O’Brien is definitely a special award,” McCoy said. “It’s an award given to the top quarterback in the country. If you play quarterback, that’s an award every quarterback wants to win. It would be very special to me.”

UPDATE::  McCoy takes home Camp, Maxwell, O’Brien (

Texas’ Colt McCoy wins Davey O’Brien Award (Star Telegram)


Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s