Details, Details, Details

So I just went to the store to pick up a few provisions before the big arctic blast hits tomorrow night. I picked up a box of wine to go with my dinners coming up.

I got my things and was ready to check out, and decided to do the self-pay and save some time. I scanned the wine and of course the register stopped to tell me a cashier had to see my driver’s license. I didn’t get any attention and I waited about 10 seconds and scanned the box again and presto, the wine scanned without the cashier checking my I.D.

Now I’m no authority on this matter, but it seems to me if I could do that, a kid that was less than 21 might could do the same thing. That’s kind of a scary thought if you are against drinking and driving like I am. Here in Texas, you can’t sell alcohol to people less than 21. So my point is, who will hold Kroger accountable if someone under 21 buys alcohol in a Kroger store, and then gets involved in a tragic accident? By the way, when I got home I looked at my receipt and it shows the date of birth under the purchase of the wine as 11/22/1969. Oh, and that’s not by birthday. So what does this mean? Kroger has programmed that birthday in!

On a more personal note, you remember one of my goals for the new year was to apply for scholarships at my school I am attending?

I got this e-mail from the university about how I apply for the many scholarships available that I matched up with to the tune of about 100K in scholarships.

Lew

Thank you for your inquiry.  Fastweb is a great resource for outside scholarships and you should definitely pursue any scholarships you may qualify for through outside organizations.  Unfortunately, since the Adult Degree Program tuition is already discounted, ADP students are not eligible for institutional scholarships from XXXXXXX.

Let me know if you have any additional questions about this!

–Sylvia

And then, about 30 minutes after i opened that e-mail, I got this e-mail asking to update this personal information.

Ethnicity Reporting

 

1. Racial/Ethnic Background

 

Colleges and universities are asked by many, including the federal government, accrediting associations, college guides, newspapers, and our own college/university communities, to describe the racial/ethnic backgrounds of our students and employees. The Federal requirements for reporting racial/ethnic backgrounds has changed and in order to give our students an opportunity to more accurately identify their backgrounds, we’re asking that you update your academic records by answering the following questions (optional):
*

1. National or ethnic origin:
Are you Hispanic or Latino?

National or ethnic origin: Are you Hispanic or Latino?   Yes
No

2. In addition, select one or more of the following racial categories to describe yourself:

In addition, select one or more of the following racial categories to describe yourself:   American Indian or Alaska Native
Asian
Black or African American
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
White
*

3. Please provide your full name and xxxxxxx University identification number:

 

Are you getting the same feel here that I am? I’m just asking.

So let me get this straight. They are saying because I am in the Adult Degree Program that I don’t qualify for scholarships? Does this sound right to ya’ll? Cause I really want to know what you all think about this? Does this sound like a certain group of people are denied certain benefits here? Does that sound like discrimination? I’m just asking.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Details, Details, Details

  1. kristik29

    Very interesting!!! Did you make sure Kroger didn’t double charge you for the wine? I totally agree that it is WRONG for a store to have a birthday programmed in…what are they thinking??As far as the scholarships go, I personally do not think that is fair at all…just my own opinion.

  2. lewp

    I agree Kristi. I’m contemplating asking the U.S Department of Education about this.

Leave a Reply

