El Fenix Restaurant, A Dallas – Fort Worth Tradition

The year was 1965 and our family had a tradition of going to El Fenix for a great time with the family and great times.

The food was the original Tex-Mex and the Margaritas flowed freely. Some of my best family memories included a night at El Fenix restaurant.

Fast forward to 2010. My friend Kristi and I decided to have a special evening at El Fenix on Hwy 183 in Irving. Our hostess was Dianna. I ordered the tortilla soup and Kristi had the San Luis dinner.

As we waited for dinner, I was enjoying the glass of red wine and looking at the old pictures on the wall surrounding our booth. There was a picture of a very young Roger Staubach and Bob Lilly at a Dallas El Fenix. The picture brought a flood of memories of my family talking about those great Cowboys teams of yesteryear.

Those were the days right? Life was so easy then, the memories were all so good then as well. Then, our meal came. Dianna was so nice and made sure everything was perfect for us. I really appreciated her sense of caring to make sure we had a great dining experience. It was totally awesome.

When I asked Dianna for our check at the end of our meal, I asked to speak to her manager, who’s name is Bernardo. I explained to Bernardo how great Dianna was and how much we appreciated her serving us. She went above and beyond the call of duty to make certain our meal was perfect.

I don’t know how far in space this blog goes, but if you are reading this, and want a great dining experience, go to El Fenix. You will not regret it. It’s a perfect tradition.

1 Comment

Filed under Dallas Cowboys, Food

One response to “El Fenix Restaurant, A Dallas – Fort Worth Tradition

  1. elfenixrestaurant

    Hi, this is Stacy with El Fenix Restaurant. We love your blog, and would like to talk to you. Please email me at stacy@elfenix.com. 🙂

Leave a Reply

