A Day at LaGrave

I made the trip to Fort Worth’s LaGrave Field today to watch the Grand Prairie Airhogs play the Fort Worth Cats. I was interested in going because not only did I want to see some good baseball, but I wanted to see the grand old field that has been such a big part of history, not only for Fort Worth, but for Major League Baseball.

As usual, I get to the game a couple of hours ahead of time so I can get a feel for the place and see what stories I can comment on. I got into the gates ok, but wasn’t allowed to go on to the field which was sort of a bummer since I pretty much have free reign at the QT Park in Grand Prairie, but hey, I got in ok so that was ok.

As I was standing by the Airhog’s dugout, Mr. Dick Smith the General Manager of the Cats came down to have a chat with me. It was really nice of him to do that.

I know the Cat’s have had some financial issues and I didn’t really want to bring that up at this point, but I am hopeful everything is ok with this team financially since it’s been such a big part of the local history.

Today was more about baseball, apple pie, and the American way rather than discussion negative aspects of a poor economy. It was about time to play baseball, and I was soaking it all in. After all, it’s Memorial Day weekend. It’s time for a break to pause and reflect how great this country is. It was great to hear Mr. Smith say he enjoys life, he gets to “come to the ballpark everyday.”

It was so hot, so summer already. That’s just part of baseball. The wind dies down to nothing, the sun beats down unmercifully, and there is no rain for miles. The dust jumps up from any slight disturbance and you know it’s just the beginning of summer. Shade is a premium now, and there isn’t that much shade at 1:00 at LaGrave Field.

The game is about to start, and I am thankful for so many things. The chance to spend some off time at a ball field during a long weekend celebrating. I shot this video and it pretty much sums up how I was feeling, and I’m so thankful for this great country and baseball.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a comment

Filed under Grand Prairie Airhogs, Holidays, music, Sports

Leave a Reply

