Recap of the 1st Infantry Division Reunion 2010

Sunday, August 29th, 2010

7:00 PM

I am back home. All of the pictures and videos have been uploaded. What an amazing 2 days.

Being in the presence of heroes leaves me awe-struck. I am so fortunate to have met so many amazing people these last two days.

From taking my first train ride on Amtrak, to attending my first, 1st infantry Division Reunion, it’s been a weekend that’s gone by at lightening speed. Thanks to my job for letting me have a couple of days off so I could take the trip for this special occasion.

Getting to see a small piece of America these last few days has just been an overwhelming experience. From meeting people on the train, to seeing old vets from the Big Red One, to seeing the present day troops from Ft. Riley Kansas, this has been something I won’t ever forget.

There were veterans there that had fought on the beaches of Normandy. There vets there that had been friends together in the jungles of Viet Nam 40 years ago. amazing stories of friendship and Espirit de Corps like no other. The genuine caring all had for th 1st Infantry Division. The caring for each other like brothers care for one another. This was something I had never experienced. It made me think in awe “where have I been for 40 years?” Why haven’t I been attending these reunions before?

In a way I suppose, I was paid back for my non-attendance as there were no one from the 1st Engineer Battalion, my revered unit from the 1st Infantry Division. No Top Morrison, no Capt. Belew. No Wilde, no Wooley. Just me. Karma has a way of getting even with you right? But this wasn’t about me. This was about honoring the Big Red One. This was about making sure all is ok with the Fighting First.

Take a look at the rest of the pictures in the slideshow.

I did not know that over 15,000 troops assigned to the Big Red One have died in harms way.

It certainly goes without saying, this was a highlight for me. It was such an honor to be able to attend this event. If the Lord wills it, I will be in Buffalo next year for the next Reunion.

Leave a comment

Filed under community volunteering, General Topics

Leave a Reply

