The Annual State Fair and Bad Weather Thread

September 26, 2010

Howdy!

Are you ever amazed at how consistent things are sometimes? The State Fair of Texas began last Friday, and with that, came the annual occurence of rain and bad weather. It does this every year as far as I can remember. One of the most unusual things I think about when it’s State Fair time, is how many different ways you can fry different foods. How do you fry Dr. Pepper?

Congrats on the Texas Rangers winning the American League West Division yesterday. I have a greater appreciation for a team that plays 162 games in the sweltering summer heat in Texas. Trust me, I had trouble just attending about half of those dates as a spectator at the Grand Prairie AirHogs games. It isn’t easy to do. Hopefully, the Rangers will be more than a one-and-done team. It would be exciting if the Rangers could possibly be a part of the World Series!

Speaking of which, how cool would it be for Arlington to be a part of the World Series AND the Super Bowl in the same year? How awesome would that be?

Speaking of that time of year, congrats to the Sweetwater Mustang Homecoming Reunion for what looks like was a great attendance by all exes. Sorry I couldn’t be there, but I was in spirit. No amount of rain can dampen the renewed friendships from high school and seeing friends again.

This has been a great weekend already, and I’m about to go see my first Dallas Stars game in person with friend Will Martin and friends. Looking forward to it.

I am pretty pumped about a new opportunity at work and am currently applying for it. Interview tomorrow, yes, I got a haircut.

I woke up this morning at 5:00 AM, put on a pot of coffee and watched IronMan. Isn’t Netflix awesome? Watch just about any movie, anytime?

By the way, the Trinity Railway Express operates on Sundays during the State Fair. Here’s the schedule.

In the back of my mind, I have a plan to go camping in a remote area soon. Just need to figure out where, and then plan on getting decent tent.

Well, it’s off to make some great bacon and eggs, then clean up my apartment, and the weekly laundry chores. Have a great day, and a great week. Oh, and Go Cowboys!

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Leave a Reply

