Daily Archives: October 19, 2008

Why I Blog

by Andrew Sullivan

 

Story

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

If Ed Hochuli and Tim Donaghy Had a Child …

… It would no doubt be the ref working last night’s LSU/USC game. This is easily one of the most amazing sports videos you’ll ever see. Inexplicably, a ref felt that the LSU Tigers weren’t playing tough enough defense against South Carolina last night, and he decided to do something about it.

And what he did was throw a shoulder into Gamecocks QB Stephen Garcia. Evidently, the zebra’s hard work paid off, as LSU smothered the Gamecocks in the second half, and handed them a 24-17 loss.

Garcia, who’s a freshman, was also making his first start for USC. Welcome to the real world, kiddo! Video of the hit below:

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Wade Phillips won’t be fired (this week)

Jerry Jones isn’t getting itchy with his trigger finger when it comes to his head coach despite three losses in four games. Jerry made that clear in a somber Cowboys locker room, even managing to make a joke about canning coaches after Super Bowl wins.

“I think there can be a change in effort, intensity, those kind of things on each individual basis,” Jerry said after the 34-14 loss to the Rams. “But I’m not talking about the kind of change with coach or coaches or philosophy or some of the stuff we’re doing scheme-wise generally.

“But it certainly for me sobers me up more than at any point this year about the job we’ve got to do to get a good team, hopefully a healthier team, to get in the position where we can compete at the end of the year. This is not the same feeling that I had with our other two losses.”

Phillips didn’t try to pump any sunshine about winning the fourth quarter, and he didn’t make any whiny excuses. He accurately called this the Cowboys’ worst performance of his tenure.

(Photo by John F. Rhodes/Dallas Morning News)

“There certainly aren’t any positives right now,” Phillips said. “I think the only positive is that we’ve got nine more games to get it turned around. We certainly didn’t look like the kind of team that’s going to get it turned around today.”

There will be fans who want a knee-jerk firing, even though Jason Garrett hasn’t exactly done anything recently to indicate that the Cowboys would be better off as the interim coach. Jerry doesn’t have the desire to make such a drastic move, much less the energy.

“I’ve had all the fire knocked out of my butt tonight,” Jerry said. “That doesn’t mean it’s gone for good.”

Wade will be the coach next week. That doesn’t mean he’s at the helm for good.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

How ‘Bout Them Cowboys?

1:56 left in the first quarter. Rams 21 Cowboys 7.

I have been a Cowboys fans since 1961 and I don’t think I have ever been as embarrassed as I am at this very moment. Never have I seen a group of individuals (the Cowboys don’t even rank as a team right now) screw up and stink as bad as I am seeing at this very moment.

It’s time for Wade Phillips to go. Seriously, we need a coach to go kick some ass. Stop babying these millionaires!  By the way, did you just see the fumble that the Cowboys didn’t try to get on? Oh my God…Barber fumbles and the Cowboys thought he was down instead of working to recover the ball!

Wade Phillips is nothing more than a very expensive cheerleader. It’s embarrassing. Get somebody in there that can chew some ass on the sideline will you Jerry? Seriously, this group is a disgrace to Cowboy’s history.

This could be 28-7 in the 1st quarter!

FIRE WADE!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Do voters really know who they are voting for?

This was sent to me earler today and it just demonstrates what happens when people make a decision to vote for a person just based on cosmetics, or what the person looks like.

http://www.bpmdeejays.com/upload/hs_sal_in_Harlem_100108.mp3

Leave a comment

Filed under General Topics

Can banned Digg friends come back to life?

Now that Digg has banned half of North America, I am proposing a new game for us banned folks with the number 666 tatooed on our foreheads. Just come back as another person. I’m pretty sure this is being done already, but let me be the first to go out on a limb here and make it public.

And why not? What’s wrong with coming back to Digg with a different user name? It’s not like it’s not easy to do. I mean how many computers can I get into with a different IP address since I work at a college with hundreds of different computers on site. And do I even need to feel bad about hiding my identity? Absolutely not! They aren’t my rules, and besides, Digg members work for free, and Digg is getting rich so why should I care about a new name on Digg?

So that brings up a different topic for Digg. What if I am a banned Digger and get back on Digg and try to make friends with my old friends again? Do I tell them who I am? Absolutely not! Well, shouldn’t I let my old friends know who I am or at least try to let them know it’s me? I am going to say no. If they guess, maybe, but don’t volunteer anything. And that brings me to a very good point about Digg anyway. When someone is asking you to be freidns on Digg, remember, they may be an old friend coming back to life. Be nice to them.

Maybe there should be a secret password to let the friend know you are a “Digg Zombie”.  Let me go on record as saying a Digg Zombie is a person who was on Digg before and got banned and came back to Digg in another life. The secret code word then is ZOMBIE!

So the next time someone wants to be your friend on Digg, be careful, it just might be a zombie coming for you! (smile)

4 Comments

Filed under General Topics